E3: My Picks of The Show

So this is my final day on the whole E3 shabang, so today I will give you my picks of the show through tired categories and new categories that I made up.

Award for best lookalike: Sony  (The Last of Us and Beyond).

When I first saw beyond, and having seen The Last of Us.. is Sony on a Ellen Paige kick? Because if you look closely, the characters look alike and sound alike because they are the same person. So I’m pretty sure people are getting confused with this. So I award Sony this award for best lookalike!

Award For best television coverage of E3: G4 Television

Even though Spike Tv had both the Microsoft and Nintendo show, it was G4 that had the superior coverage of the event. Not only did they show some new games that didn’t make it onto the conferences, but also gave away some goodies too for the twitter-holics. That is why they win this year’s E3 coverage award.

Best Show: Nintendo 3Ds conference

Who knew that such a show of small proportions can be the shows best? I tell you why, it’s because of all the titles that are coming out this year. The show was simple, it got it’s point across and showed you some games without all that shalalalalaa and ding dang dong. Nobody will agree with me on this, but I am standing my ground. This is the show of the show for me!

Now lets get on to the nitty gritty, The Awards.

Best RPG: Kingdom Hearts 3Ds

There weren’t many RPGs at this year’s E3, so this award easily goes to Kingdom Hearts 3Ds. I really do wish Square Enix makes up for this at The Tokyo Game Show this year with Final Fantasy versus 13.

Best Action Game: The Amazing Spider-Man

Shocked? I’m not. This game blew me away and probably many others with Beenox’s attempt to finally make a good movie video game. And It looks like they succeeded, I have nothing but anticipation for this game it looks so exciting to play, nothing else came close when it came to finished games department.

Best Surprise: Watchdogs

This was not even close as this year’s E3 was short in the surprise department. But this game looks like a surefire blockbuster with it’s bold attempt at making this world big and ambitious. With technology as a weapon, it’s a damn good idea.

Best Reboot: Tomb Raider

Yeah, I had to put this as an award because of the other game franchise that is getting a reboot: Devil May Cry. Don’t get me wrong, I like what I see.. but not as much as Tomb Raider. This gritty reboot has me amped for the survival mechanics, and the pretty graphics.. but also the origin story of a young Lara Croft and how she became the badass she becomes.

Best Fighter: Sony All Stars Battle Royale

I hate this pick, I really do. But it is the only game I tolerated from the others.. plus it has the smash brothers fighting engine, so I guess it could be fun.

Best Sports Game: Madden 2013

At least they are willing to improve their craft by adding a new physics engine.. and with no sight of NHL 13.. this game wins easily. Can I please choose NBA 2K13??

Best Xbox 360 Game: Halo 4

I am actually pretty excited for this new entry in the Halo franchise, should be a lot of fun to play.

Best PS3 Game: The Last of Us

Should be the greatest zombie game ever made to date, should expect nothing less from Naughty dog.

Best Wii U game: Pikmin 3

I mean there was like only 2 other games.. lol.

Best Overall game: Tomb Raider

All I got to say is, please do not screw this up Square Enix.. please do not screw this up.

Now we go on to the rotten eggs section

Worst game idea: Wonderbook

The fucking thing barely worked, and I consider this one of the all time worst presentations of all time. Finally, a thing from JK Rowling that indeed sucks.. had to happen sooner or later.

Worst show: EA Games

This show was just one big YAWWNNN! Nothing new, just some bullshit on titles I don’t care for. Now if NHL 13 was there I might change my tune, but nope.. nothing at all.

Worst host: Ubisoft

Unfortunately there are no photos of them at the moment  due to them having “Girl Wood”

Whoever hired these people should get their gamer cards taken away, I’m not saying that the hosts are not gamers.. but man their performances made me believe they were newbies at this game. As the hecklers from The Muppets would say;

BOO GET OFF THE STAGE!!

Worst game: Defiance

This one I have to add my two cents in.. it’s a game about a upcoming show on SYFY.. those last two keywords are red flags. It just looks like a shiny but typical MMO.. YAWN. At least the Wonderbook is trying something new, that’s why it barely evades worst game credentials.

Well, that is it for me this year. But next year, I will make an effort to actually be there and give you nice stuff from the floor with interviews and other goodies. Till next time, see ya!

About beyondthetape

Hi everybody, I am an amateur Artist/moviecritic/writer/entertainer. You don't know me, at least not yet. I also review Video Games. Soon I will post podcasts and Video Reviews.

Posted on June 8, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Attractive section of content. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and in accession capital to assert that I get actually loved account your weblog posts. Any way I’ll be subscribing to your augment or even I achievement you get admission to constantly quickly.

  2. I experimented with taking a look at your blog in my mobile phone and the layout does not seem to be correct. Might want to check it out on WAP as well as it seems most cellphone layouts are not working with your web site.

  3. Incredible, this is exciting to read. Perhaps you have considered submitting articles or blog posts to help publications?

  4. I think it’s better not to provide social security number.Do they called you ans ID?

  5. I have recently started a blog, the information you provide on this web site has helped me greatly. Thanks for all of your time & work.

  6. Very efficiently written post. It will be valuable to everyone who utilizes it, including yours truly . Keep up the good work – for sure I will check out more posts.

Leave a Reply

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Meta

