My Opinion/Expections/Predictions On The Amazing Spider-Man

I’ll be quite honest, In early February I headed into this film with grim expectations.. I thought the first footage we saw for this movie looked like a bunch of crap, especially the first person views that are to be in 3D. Those are all awful, and I still think the cgi is below average but I will give it the benefit of the doubt because this movie was inherited with a very low budget for a big Hollywood super hero movie, around 70-90 million to guesstimate. But the biggest thing to me that was very worrisome was the whole story of Peter Parker and his growing pains of becoming a hero while juggling his thirst to know what his past was and who his parents were. I hated how they were advertising this to hell in the trailers as something brand spanking new, it’s still the same origin but it’s slightly modified with his parents being shoehorned in there. I also had a problem with the origin story of how he becomes Spider-man, as you all know that somehow he had the powers all along but dormant and it needed a catalyst for it to be awakened. In other words, he was a science experiment conducted by Oscorp with his father as the main scientist, at least that’s what I think happens. Plus the casting.. it took me a while to get use to Andrew Garfield as Peter Parker and Emma Stone as Gwen Stacy (once upon a time people though she was going to be Mary Jane). The only casting I semi agreed with is Rhys Ifans as Dr.Connors/The Lizard.

Now we enter into June, even though I still have doubt with this movie.. but I can’t help but be excited for this movie. It seems like that the director knows what Spider-Man is; A sarcastic super hero who is also a teenager struggling with life and high school. I also like how very little they had with this movie, and turned into an action packed movie with a intriguing story. But enough about me being giddy, let’s talk business.

What I expect from this movie:

A dynamic performance from Andrew Garfield as Peter Parker/Spider-Man:

As much as I liked Tobey Maguire as Spider-Man.. there was something lacking in his portrayal as the hero. He just forgot who Peter Parker is, but it wasn’t ALL his fault. But anyway, I expect this movie to get the two characters formed into one single compact performance, to finally give us a fleshed out Peter Parker and Spider-Man.

A strong story:

Give us a cohesive story with lots of hills and valleys, show us the story of how Peter Parker becomes the hero he will become. Everything else will be gravy. Just don’t go too crazy with the whole Peter’s parents bs.

An exciting movie:

What’s a super hero movie without exciting action sequences? Answer: A boring one. I fear that this movie will be very light on the action, which I do not want to happen. I want this movie to excite me, give me suspense too as that always excites the movie goer.

Predictions

Opening Weekend Gross: $120 Million

Rotten Tomatoes Score: 75-89%

Stay golden true believers!

About beyondthetape

Hi everybody, I am an amateur Artist/moviecritic/writer/entertainer. You don't know me, at least not yet. I also review Video Games. Soon I will post podcasts and Video Reviews.

Posted on June 8, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Hey very cool website!! Man .. Excellent .. Amazing .. I will bookmark your site and take the feeds also…I am happy to find so many useful info here in the post, we need work out more techniques in this regard, thanks for sharing. . . . . .

  2. I wonder if people called these owners “tree-huggers” and “greenie-weenies” and all of the disparaging comments back in these days?.. I’m guessing not..

  3. Forgive my stupidity, but I can’t for the life of me find your sites rss feeds. Mind directing me to it? Thanks.

Leave a Reply

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Meta

